By using this site, you agree to the Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
Accept

Amed Post

Breaking News,magazine, sport, life

Notification Show More
Font ResizerAa
Reading: WhatsApp users issued urgent ‘delete now’ alert with phones at risk
Share
Font ResizerAa

Amed Post

Breaking News,magazine, sport, life

Search
Have an existing account? Sign In
Follow US

WhatsApp users issued urgent ‘delete now’ alert with phones at risk

amedpost
Last updated: October 11, 2025 5:23 pm
amedpost
Published: October 11, 2025
Share
SHARE


A new WhatsApp scam has emerged and users are being warned to stop them falling victim. It can leave you locked out of your account and puts your contacts at risk of losing money.

The scam reportedly involves being sent a message from one of your friends asking you to vote. It also includes a link which involves handing over personal details and security codes. The latest scam has been spotted by Bitdefender, a global cybersecurity company, who are urging people to remain vigilant.

As reported by the Mirror, the scam message reads: “Hi! Please vote for Adeline in this contest, she’s the daughter of a close friend. The main prize is a scholarship abroad. Thank you so much!”

If you click on the link, you’re taken to a fake website where you’ll be asked to vote. If you opt to do so, a message pops up asking for your phone number along with a code.

The scam is designed to access WhatsApp accounts and person details. Once the hacker obtains these details, they are able to lock you out of your account and send more scam messages to your contacts.

The team at Bitdefender explained: “This gives attackers instant access to their accounts, which they then use to propagate the scam and defraud new victims of money.”

The scammers are currently deploying 177 fraudulent domains and 554 unique URL. They have reportedly targeted thousands of WhatsApp users over the last two months and the threat is ongoing.

Bitdefender added: “Bitdefender Labs has been monitoring a rapidly expanding campaign that exploits WhatsApp users through fraudulent ‘voting contests’ to take over accounts and steal money.

“This ‘Vote for My Child’ scam hijacks accounts by tricking users into sharing their verification codes, turning friends and family into unknowing amplifiers of the fraud.”

The company has issued the following advice to avoid being scammed:

  • Never share your WhatsApp verification code with anyone — not even friends or family
  • Verify requests for money or favours through a direct phone call
  • Report suspicious messages within WhatsApp (“More → Report”)

If hacked:

  • Try to regain control by requesting a new verification code
  • Contact WhatsApp support at support@whatsapp.com
  • Notify your bank if money has been transferred
  • Inform your contacts about the compromise
  • WhatsApp also says you should share any codes with anyone.

WhatsApp says on its help page: “To protect your account, WhatsApp will send you a push notification when someone tries to register a WhatsApp account with your phone number. To keep your account safe, don’t share your verification code with others.

“When you receive this notification, it means that someone has entered your phone number and requested the registration code. You should never share your WhatsApp verification code with others.”

Joe Biden’s six-word takedown of Trump as he slams ‘Putin appeasement’ | World | News
The world’s cheapest country to holiday – £800 for two weeks spending | Travel News | Travel
Coffee will be sweeter and much tastier if 1 ingredient is added – not sugar
The 11 Mets miscalculations that have sent season horribly awry
Floyd Mayweather ‘confronted by mob’ while shopping in London due to Israel vs Palestine | Boxing | Sport

Subscribe

Subscribe to our newsletter to get our newest articles instantly!

[mc4wp_form]

Share This Article
Facebook Email Print
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© AMED POST Design Company. All Rights Reserved.
Welcome Back!

Sign in to your account

Username or Email Address
Password

Lost your password?