Who is the UK’s voting spokesperson in Eurovision 2019?

The spokesperson at Eurovision is usually responsible for informing viewers about any changes concerning the leaderboard and which countries we’ll award our points to.

With Mel Giedroyc having held the title last year, who has been chosen to take on the role for this year’s show? Find out below…

eurovision song contest 2019
Eurovision Song Contest 2019 is held in Tel Aviv, Israel

Who is the UK’s voting spokesperson in Eurovision 2019?

Reality star and former Big Brother’s Bit On The Side presenter Rylan Clark-Neal will act as the UK’s official spokesperson at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.

The announcement was made by the TV personality himself after having taken to Twitter to share the news with his millions of followers.

“I’ve waited my whole life to do this, and I can’t believe it’s finally happening”, Rylan expressed in a video message.

“I’m excited for everything! The backdrop: is it going to be the London skyline, is it going to be the Dome? A picture of me? I don’t know, it could be anything, but I’m so excited to be doing it!”

During the live final of the contest, Rylan will be the face to reveal which countries the nation will be awarding their eight, ten and douze points to.

rylan clark eurovision song contest spokesperson
Rylan Clark will act as the UK’s official spokesperson at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019
Getty – Contributor

The role was previously held by Mel Giedroyc, who acted as the official spokesperson during the song contest in Lisbon, Portugal last year.

Rylan is also lined up to be co-commenting on the semi-finals when the competition reaches that stage on 14 May and 167 May, 2019, alongside DJ Scott Mills.

Previous commentators who have acted as a spokesperson for the UK at the annual occasion includes Blue’s Duncan James, Nigella Lawson, Richard Osman and BBC’s Fearne Cotton.

When and where is Eurovision taking place in 2019?

The Eurovision Song Contest 2019 will take place in Tel Aviv, Israel.

The first show will commence on Tuesday, 14 May, 2019 with the final being held on Saturday, 18 May, 2019.

Michael Rice is the UK’s entry for Eurovision’s 64th run, and he’ll hit the stage to perform his song titled Bigger Than Us.

If he wins the competition, Michael will be the first UK act to have won since 1997’s Katrina and the Waves, who were crowned winners following their performance with Love Shine A Light.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button